IBMA Awards 2009

Here are the 2009 International Bluegrass Music Award.  Ceremonies took place in Nashville on Thursday, October 1st.


MRBA Alumni, Ivan Rosenberg, c-owrote the Song of the Year.


Congratulations to all.





International Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame – The Lonesome Pine Fiddlers, The Dillards

Distinguished Achievement Award Recipients – The Lonesome Pine Fiddlers, The Dillards

Entertainer of the Year – Dailey & Vincent

Male Vocalist of the Year – Dan Tyminski

Female Vocalist of the Year – Dale Ann Bradley

Album of the Year – Wheels, The Dan Tyminski Band, produced by Dan Tyminski, Rounder Records

Vocal Group of the Year – Dailey & Vincent

Instrumental Group of the Year – Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper

Song of the Year – “Don’t Throw Mama’s Flowers Away,” by Danny Paisley & the Southern Grass (artist), Chris Stuart & Ivan Rosenberg (writers)

Recorded Event of the Year – “Proud to Be a Daughter of Bluegrass” featuring Dale Ann Bradley, Heather Berry, Lisa Martin, Gloria Belle, Sierra Hull, Rhonda Vincent, Lisa Ray, Linda Lay, Sally Jones, Jeanie Stanley, Carol Lee Cooper, Sonya Isaacs, Becky Isaacs Bowman, Michelle Nixon, Jeanette Williams, Sophie Haislip, Louise Tomberlain, Mindy Rakestraw, Lizzy Long, Frances Mooney, Lorraine Jordan, Annette Kelley, Lilly Lieux, Dixie Hall, Judi Marshall, Melissa Lawrence, Beth Lawrence, Rebecca Frazier, Donica Christensen, Lisa Maning & Jenni Lyn Gardner (artists); Dixie Hall, Paula Wolak & Frances Money (producers); Blue Circle Records

Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year – “Jerusalem Ridge,” Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper (artist), Bill Monroe (writer), Jeff White & Michael Cleveland (producers), Rounder Records

Gospel Recorded Performance of the Year – “On the Other Side;” Dailey & Vincent (artists), Jimmy Fortune, Kevin Denney & Tom Botkin (writers); Jamie Dailey & Darrin Vincent (producers); Rounder Records

Emerging Artist of the Year – The SteelDrivers

Instrumental Performers of the Year:

Banjo – Kristin Scott Benson

Fiddle – Michael Cleveland

Dobro – Rob Ickes

Mandolin – Jesse Brock

Bass – Marshall Wilborn

Guitar – Josh Williams

Bluegrass Event of the Year – Grey Fox Bluegrass Festival; Oak Hill, New York; July 2008

Bluegrass Broadcaster of the Year – Katy Daley; HD Radio WAMU 88.5 Channel 2, 105.5 FM &; Washington, D.C.

Print Media Person of the Year – Roger Siminoff; Siminoff’s Luthiers Glossary, Banjo Newsletter and Bluegrass Breakdown

Best Liner Notes for Recorded Project – Steve Martin (writer), The Crow, Steve Martin (artist), 40 Share Productions (label)

Best Graphic Design for Recorded Project – Greg Carr & Salli Ratts (designers), The Crow, Steve Martin (artist), 40 Share Productions (label)

Wintergrass 2009 lineup

The Wintergrass 2009 Lineup – Feb 19-22

The SteelDrivers Fri/Sat

Darrell Scott Fri only

Laurie Lewis and the Right Hands Sat/Sun

Tony Trischka Territory Fri only

Michael Cleveland and Flamekeeper Fri/Sat

Mike Marshall & Big Trio
with Alex Hargreaves & Paul Kowert

Blue Highway Sat/Sun

Adrienne Young and the Old Faithful Sat only

Alison Brown Quartet with Joe Craven Sat only

3 Ring Circle Fri only

The Isaacs Sat/Sun

Missy Raines & the New Hip Fri only

The Travelin’ McCourys Fri only

Choro Famoso
with special guest Danilo Brito
Sat only

The Paperboys Fri/Sat

Bearfoot Sat only

The Bee Eaters Fri/Sat

Hot Buttered Rum Fri/Sat

Scythian Fri/Sat

Monroe Crossing Fri/Sat

Cody Bryant
and the Riders of the Purple Sage
Sat only

Widow Maker Thu/Fri/Sat

Dewgrass Sun only

Urban Monroes Thu/Fri/Sat

Belle Monroe and Her Brewglass Boys Fri/Sat

Molly & Tenbrooks Sat/Sun

The Tallboys Thu/Fri

Martin Stevens & Molly Adkins Thu/Fri/Sat