IBMA Awards 2009

Here are the 2009 International Bluegrass Music Award.  Ceremonies took place in Nashville on Thursday, October 1st.


MRBA Alumni, Ivan Rosenberg, c-owrote the Song of the Year.


Congratulations to all.





International Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame – The Lonesome Pine Fiddlers, The Dillards

Distinguished Achievement Award Recipients – The Lonesome Pine Fiddlers, The Dillards

Entertainer of the Year – Dailey & Vincent

Male Vocalist of the Year – Dan Tyminski

Female Vocalist of the Year – Dale Ann Bradley

Album of the Year – Wheels, The Dan Tyminski Band, produced by Dan Tyminski, Rounder Records

Vocal Group of the Year – Dailey & Vincent

Instrumental Group of the Year – Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper

Song of the Year – “Don’t Throw Mama’s Flowers Away,” by Danny Paisley & the Southern Grass (artist), Chris Stuart & Ivan Rosenberg (writers)

Recorded Event of the Year – “Proud to Be a Daughter of Bluegrass” featuring Dale Ann Bradley, Heather Berry, Lisa Martin, Gloria Belle, Sierra Hull, Rhonda Vincent, Lisa Ray, Linda Lay, Sally Jones, Jeanie Stanley, Carol Lee Cooper, Sonya Isaacs, Becky Isaacs Bowman, Michelle Nixon, Jeanette Williams, Sophie Haislip, Louise Tomberlain, Mindy Rakestraw, Lizzy Long, Frances Mooney, Lorraine Jordan, Annette Kelley, Lilly Lieux, Dixie Hall, Judi Marshall, Melissa Lawrence, Beth Lawrence, Rebecca Frazier, Donica Christensen, Lisa Maning & Jenni Lyn Gardner (artists); Dixie Hall, Paula Wolak & Frances Money (producers); Blue Circle Records

Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year – “Jerusalem Ridge,” Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper (artist), Bill Monroe (writer), Jeff White & Michael Cleveland (producers), Rounder Records

Gospel Recorded Performance of the Year – “On the Other Side;” Dailey & Vincent (artists), Jimmy Fortune, Kevin Denney & Tom Botkin (writers); Jamie Dailey & Darrin Vincent (producers); Rounder Records

Emerging Artist of the Year – The SteelDrivers

Instrumental Performers of the Year:

Banjo – Kristin Scott Benson

Fiddle – Michael Cleveland

Dobro – Rob Ickes

Mandolin – Jesse Brock

Bass – Marshall Wilborn

Guitar – Josh Williams

Bluegrass Event of the Year – Grey Fox Bluegrass Festival; Oak Hill, New York; July 2008

Bluegrass Broadcaster of the Year – Katy Daley; HD Radio WAMU 88.5 Channel 2, 105.5 FM &; Washington, D.C.

Print Media Person of the Year – Roger Siminoff; Siminoff’s Luthiers Glossary, Banjo Newsletter and Bluegrass Breakdown

Best Liner Notes for Recorded Project – Steve Martin (writer), The Crow, Steve Martin (artist), 40 Share Productions (label)

Best Graphic Design for Recorded Project – Greg Carr & Salli Ratts (designers), The Crow, Steve Martin (artist), 40 Share Productions (label)

Rounder Bluegrass Month giveaway (Free stuff)


Rounder Records Burlington, MA — Every year Rounder Records is an active participant
in the unofficial May is International Bluegrass Music Month! This year is no
different. And this year, they have a special treat for Rounder fans.

Rounder Records celebrates Bluegrass Month with new releases, special discounts,
and EXCLUSIVE PRIZES! Enter your email address to sign up for the Rounder email
list, and you’ll be entered to win one of the following great prizes:

Grand Prize

  • 1 lucky winner will receive a Deering “Goodtime 2” banjo autographed
    by Steve Martin!

5 First Prize Packages:

  • $50 Rounder Gift Certificate good toward purchases from
  • Rounder artist merchandise autographed by Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver,
    Blue Highway, Michael Cleveland, The Grascals, Dailey & Vincent, and the

3 Second Prize Packages:

  • $50 Rounder Gift Certificate
  • Free 1 year subscription to Bluegrass Unlimited
  • Rounder logo T-shirt

Contest runs from May 1st to June 30th. Winners will be drawn at random from
the Rounder email list and notified by July 1st via email. For a chance to win
one of the prizes above, visit The Official Rounder Contest Website.